curving office building

Relaunch of Congressional Friends of Denmark Caucus

Relaunch of Congressional Friends of Denmark Caucus

This month, Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer and Congressman Fred Upton formally relaunched the Congressional Friends of Denmark Caucus.

The Congressional Friends of Denmark Caucus is a network for elected officials in the U.S. Congress who are particularly interested in discussing points of interest related to the American-Danish relationship. The Caucus works to enhance and enrich the ties between our two nations, highlighting issues of mutual concern and supporting cultural, social, economic, and political ties between the US and Denmark. In the ADBC, we hope to celebrate the relaunch later in the year as we return to our usual in-person activities in the fall.

As a long-time member and Democratic Co-chair, Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer is a familiar face in the caucus. With the relaunch, Rep. Hoyer will continue to serve as the co-chair alongside the new Republican co-chair Rep. Fred Upton of Michigan. The co-chairs are currently in the process of recommitting caucus members from the previous Congress.

Co-Chair: Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer, Maryland’s 5th District

After serving as member and president of the Maryland Senate for a number of years, Congressman Hoyer was first elected to the House of Representatives in 1981. As a member of the Democratic Steering and Policy Committee and two-time House Majority Leader, he has enjoyed many years of experience in the heart of US politics. Prior to his Congressional leadership role, he was a member of the influential Appropriations Committee. He is a longtime friend of Denmark and has been the Chair of the Congressional Friends of Denmark Caucus since its inception. In 2009, he was made Knight of the prestigious Order of the Dannebrog by Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark.

Co-Chair: Congressman Fred Upton, Michigan’s 6th District

Congressman Fred Upton worked under Ronald Reagan in the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) before he was elected to Congress in 1986. He is a strong advocate for public health, as a member on the Health Subcommittee, and has long pushed for a greater emphasis on biomedical research to improve public health. As a member of the Committee on Energy and Commerce he has an “all of the above” approach to energy and focuses on emerging clean technologies. His bipartisan approach on committees has resulted in over 200 legislative measures being signed into law. He currently serves as the ranking member of the Subcommittee on Energy.