curving office building

In-person ADBC Board Meeting

board members standing in front of the Danish Embassy

In-person ADBC Board Meeting

This week, the American-Danish Business Council had its first physical board meeting in over a year and with a new Board constituted it was a welcomed pleasure to be able to meet in person again. With the new Board fully in place, the ADBC is looking forward to its leadership in shaping the direction of the Council to going forward.

At the meeting, Ambassador Wisborg addressed the current situation where Covid seems to loosen its grip on society and restrictions are easing. This means that the ADBC is now able to go back to our usual activities of hosting in-person events with high-level engagement and networking opportunities for our members. We expect that the fall will bring a number of high-level official visits from Denmark, and the ADBC will focus on coupling to events in the Council. There are many important issues to address (e.g. global health issues, green transition and sustainability, global supply chains, the Arctic region, and much more).

The Congressional Friends of Denmark Caucus is now established in the 117th Congress. The long-time co-chair, Majority Leader, Steny Hoyer will continue as the co-chair, while Congressman, Fred Upton has joined as the republican co-chair. The ADBC hope to be able to host a relaunch celebration when possible.

The Board additionally discussed avenues for engagement in the fall and agreed that it will be good going back to our usual activities to maximise value for the members. The Council remains fully committed to the interest of the members and the Board is open to any inputs from members. Please reach out to the Secretariat for any inputs.

The Board of Directors in the ABDC now include:

– Lone Dencker Wisborg, Ambassador of Denmark to the United States

– Douglas Morgante, Maersk Inc

Board members
– Paul Espinosa, ROCKWOOL
– Jeffrey Telep, King & Spalding
– Louis Dupuis, Lockheed Martin
– Manan Shah, Leo Pharma
– Gill Stevens, Novo Nordisk
– Pamela Venzke, Orsted
– Kirsten Skala, Novozymes